May 24 – June 6, 2021
‘Click It or Ticket’ is a campaign that began in the early 1990s as a way to raise awareness and save lives. The campaign was designed to remind you that it is the law to wear your seat belt at all times when operating a motor vehicle.
Wearing your seat belt in Florida became a primary offense with The Dori Slosberg and Katie Marchetti Safety Belt Law (effective June 30, 2009). The law requires that all drivers, all front seat passengers and all passengers under the age of 18 fasten their safety belts. (Section 316.614, Florida Statutes)
But it’s about more than just you. It’s about your passengers as well. Child restraint violations (infant through 5 years old) carry a fine of $163 and 3 points on your license.
Make sure you and your passengers are ALL buckled in, the right way. If you aren’t sure how to secure your child’s car seat, contact the Department of Health in Charlotte County for help. They provide free classes to teach you how to install the car seat, and for those who have a financial need, they may even provide the seat to you – free of charge.
Safety is everyone’s responsibility, but as the driver of the vehicle, it’s up to you to make sure your passengers are secure. Don’t put it in Drive until you hear those clicks!
Florida Department of Health in Charlotte County: (941) 624-7200 x7273
Safe Kids Safety Tips: https://www.safekids.org/car-seat
Report violations to CCSO non-emergency line: (941) 639-0013
Leave a Reply