Florida Sheriffs Association Announces New Board for 2022-2023 

The following is a press release from the Florida Sheriffs Association:

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (July 27, 2022) – The Florida Sheriffs Association (FSA), one of the largest and most successful law enforcement associations in the nation, is pleased to announce its leadership for the 2022-2023 year. The newly-elected FSA President, Hernando County Sheriff Al Nienhuis, will work with the staff and board of directors to guide the efforts and direction of FSA and its 67 Sheriffs.  

Sheriff Al Nienhuis began his career through working as a special agent at the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, State of Florida from 1989-2001. He rose through the ranks to serve as Captain of the Fort Myers District. From 2001-2010, he was the undersheriff for the Pasco Sheriff’s Office. In January 2011, he was appointed Sheriff of Hernando County and was then elected Sheriff of Hernando County in 2012. He was re-elected in 2016 (un-opposed) and again in 2020.  

“In Hernando County, we have two simultaneous responsibilities as we interact with our community,” Sheriff Nienhuis says. “The first is to maintain the safety of the county, which we take seriously. Just as important, however, is our second task of making our citizens feel safe.”  

Achieving those responsibilities are just a few reasons why Sheriff Nienhuis has become a leader in his community and statewide. He earned an MBA from University of South Florida in 2011 and is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, Quantico, VA, Class 197. He has been a dedicated protector of his community for many years and has shown citizens that their safety is his priority. His commitment to FSA is evident through his position as Vice President under Levy County Sheriff Bobby McCallum this past year, as well as serving in several other leadership positions within the association  

“It is an honor to serve as the president of the Florida Sheriffs Association,” Sheriff Nienhuis said. “As the third most populous state in the US, Florida is quite diverse, and I take great pride in working with my fellow sheriffs as a team so our residents and visitors are safe and happy.” 

Other FSA board appointments are: 

·         Vice President: Sheriff Bill Leeper, Nassau County 

·         Secretary: Sheriff Bill Prummell, Charlotte County 

·         Treasurer: Sheriff Dennis Lemma, Seminole County 

·         Immediate Past President: Sheriff Bobby McCallum, Levy County 

·         Chair: Sheriff Billy Woods, Marion County 

·         Vice-Chair: Sheriff Rick Staly, Flagler County 

“The number one thing that makes the Florida Sheriffs Association successful is our leadership and the support and backing of our great state’s 67 sheriffs,” said FSA Executive Director Steve Casey. “The Office of Sheriff in Florida was built on integrity, and that integrity, paired with responsibility and leadership are the foundation of our association’s vision to protect every visitor and Floridian.”   

“I look forward to continuing my appointment on the FSA board and service to the citizens of Florida while working alongside other dedicated sheriffs towards a common goal of keeping Florida safe,” says Sheriff Bill Prummell.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: